Countdown to Finals: 2 Days Remain

The penultimate set of interviews! Here we go!

Interview #7:Kelsey

D: You’ve been a volunteer and behind-the-scenes element to the BSP for years. How does it feel to be attending finals as a competitor?

K: I am so excited to be attending BSP as a competitor! I never thought that this was going to happen, so Im pumped!

D: Who would you be most excited to work with of all the other competitors?

K: I would be most excited to work with Mel. Its been amazing seeing her come out to the slam as spectator, to hitting the stage for the first time, to bringing hot fire to the mic! Im also all for having more female voices, so yea!

D: What would you be most excited to get out of a team experience?

K: I would be most excited to write team pieces! I havent had the opportunity to do that yet, despite having some team piece ideas, so this would give me a chance to move forward

D: Do you have any advice for new writers?

K: My advice for new writers: just start writing. DO IT! And when you think you might be ready to share, push yourself to get on the mic. Its scary, but it does get easier.

 

Interview #8: Spencer

D: This is your first finals competition. How are you feeling about the competition and your chances? Is there anything that slamming this season has taught you?

S: I’m going in with very low expectations. I began seriously writing in March 2016 and the development of my own writing has been reward enough for me. Having the opportunity to perform with other amazing poets is reward in itself. Slamming this season really challenged me to break away from my traditional writing structure and topic selection. I challenged myself to be less reliant on rhyming and focus on creating a smooth flowing piece. The first slam I went to in Burlington (which was also my first slam ever) struck me deep and I told myself that one day I want to write like the rest of you guys. From this season I learned it’s important to have your own voice and write about things which speak to you. Not everyone is going to like everything you write and the points are just a good place to gauge your work, but not the be-all-end-all of a poetry slam. It’s about sharing art, not so much about deciding who is the best. That is something I was a little naive during my first couple attendances. I kind of switched to writing for myself and if I am really able to captivate what I’m trying to say well at least someone in the audience will appreciate it, even if it’s my mom or best friends haha.

D: Of all the competitors, who would you be most excited to work with?

S: Sebastian’s style has had the most amount of influence on my work. I like his use of running metaphors and his stage presence is phenomenal. He was the one who inspired me the most initially but I’d be incredibly thrilled to work with any of the poets who made it to the finals, they all have had poems which still stick in my head. They are all truly amazing. Not to down play myself but I do feel like I’m the weakest link but I am new and if anything it’ll be a learning experience.

D: What do you think are your greatest strength and weakness as a slam poet?

S: My greatest strength is that I write in a way where it is very easy to understand what I’m trying to say and where I’m coming from. I try to keep my pace a bit slower and use accessible language but still keep it colourful in a way. My weakness is in my stage presence. I have no background in performing and I’ve only recently transitioned from writing page poetry to something that is performed. It’s something that will come with practice and with time

D: Do you have any advice for new writers?

S: Edit your work, especially when you are in a different mind set. I initially did not do much editing and let the original speak for itself. I found that if I approach a piece later when my thought process is different not only can I improve the flow but I can also come up with new ways of saying things. Also do not be afraid to go out of your comfort zone and try something new. Experiment with new poetic devices, metaphors and styles. What speaks to me the most from other people’s work is hearing things I would have never come up with myself.

Posted on March 16, 2017, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

